Monkey Bread

Cinnamon doughy goods are the ultimate comfort food for me – I just love them – cinnamon rolls, cinnamon donuts – ok, I’m drooling now.

On that note, I thought I would try to make Monkey Bread for Christmas morning breakfast.  Seeing as in Australia, we don’t have tinned biscuit dough that so many recipes call for I had to make it all from scratch.

I looked at many recipes on the internet and came up with this – my very first recipe for the thermomix! 

Ingredients:

  • 20g butter
  • 1 cup of warm milk (I microwaved mine for 45 secs)
  • 1/3 cup warm water
  • 55g raw caster sugar
  • 2 tsp yeast
  • 460g plain flour
  • 2 tsp salt

Topping:

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 100g melted butter

Method:

Place the butter, milk, water, sugar, yeast, flour and salt into the TMX bowl.  Knead on interval setting for 4 mins.

Set dough aside and let it rise until it has doubled in size (about 1-2 hours).  You can just leave it in your TMX to rise but I needed the thermomix for some other Christmas Cooking so I took the dough out and let it rise in another bowl.

Once dough has doubled start to prepare the topping by melting the butter.

And combine the cinnamon and sugar in a bowl (oh yeah – that’s the goods!)

Break off small tablespoon amounts of dough, dip into the melted butter and then into the cinnamon sugar and then place into a bundt (or ring) pan.  Continue with this until all the dough is used up – you only want the dough to come about half way up your bundt pan at this stage. 

Pour any left over melted butter over the dough in the pan.  Cover with gladwrap or bread mat and allow to rise until it has doubled again.

Bake 30-35 mins in a pre-heated oven at 180C.

Now I saw an article on the kitchn which served the  monkey bread with a bourbon  creme anglais and I have to say I thought creme anglais would be a perfect accompaniment to this (sans bourbon of course – it’s not cool for the under 5’s!).  But on looking up the recipe I needed 6 (yes that is six) egg yolks and unfortunately I didn’t have that many eggs left.  Nevermind, it was still delicious – and still delicious again on Boxing Day for breakfast!

Enjoy!

Leave a comment