Danish Dream Cake (Dromakage)

It’s no secret that I like to bake cakes – I make at least two a week for lunch boxes and snacking with a nice cup of tea, however I hate icing them! After I have cleaned up from the baking I don’t like starting over again with the icing and that icing invariably creates disasters in the lunch box. But a cake with no icing isn’t very exciting is it?

After much testing I think I have found my solution – coffee cakes. They have a delicious topping that is baked right into the cake and they are whipped up so easily in the thermomix. The past year I have been testing and perfecting coffee cakes in my thermomix and I’ll share the recipes right here!

First up is Danish Dream Cake. I had not heard of it until recently but it is sure to be a cake that takes off here in Australia because it’s very similar to our Lamingtons. It’s a vanilla flavoured sponge with a vanilla caramel coconut topping. I have adapted a recipe from the book Scandilicious by Signe Johansen. I would love to say I own a copy of this book because the recipes look AMAZING but I haven’t been able to get my hands on one so I picked this recipe up off the internet.

20140722-132331-48211253.jpg

Ingredients
For the sponge:
4 medium eggs
300 grams sugar (caster)
1 tsp vanilla extract
150 grams butter, melted
150 milliliters buttermilk (can use half milk, half yoghurt)
300 grams plain flour
3 tsp baking powder
Pinch salt

For the topping:
200 grams butter
200 grams brown sugar
150 grams desiccated coconut
Pinch pink salt
2 tsp vanilla extract

Directions
Preheat oven to 180°C and line a large rectangular cake tin.

Add sugar to the thermomix bowl and make caster sugar – speed 9 / 10 secs.

Insert butterfly and add eggs and vanilla. Whip speed 4 / 3-4 mins with measuring cup off until light and fluffy.

Leaving the butterfly in, add melted butter, buttermilk (or yoghurt and milk), flour, baking powder and salt and combine speed 4 / 15 secs.

Pour into cake tin and bake 20-30 mins until the top is golden and a skewer comes out clean.

Meanwhile – make the topping. Add all ingredients to the thermomix and cook reverse speed 3 / 5 mins / 90°C.

Remove the cake from the oven and turn the temp up to 220°C. Spread the topping evenly over the cake then return it to the oven and bake for a further 5-10 mins until the topping is a deep tasted golden colour.

Let the cake cool in the tin

20140722-132534-48334117.jpg

Leave a Reply

