Blueberry Buttermilk Cake

20120814-123833.jpg

Ok, so I have a confession, I much prefer to bake than to cook. There has been more than one occasion where I have a beautiful dessert prepared but no main meal!

So here is another beautifully light cake I whipped up this morning. I had some butter milk that’s been in the freezer for a while that I wanted to use up but this can be easily substituted for yoghurt if you don’t have any.

It’s quite an incredible cake because the batter is so thick and creamy yet once cooked the cakes are impossibly light. You can use any type of frozen berries, my boys just love blueberries and that’s what I happened to have in the freezer.

Ingredients
370 grams plain flour
3 tsp baking powder
Pinch pink sea salt flakes
225 grams unsalted butter
350 grams sugar
3 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
175 mls buttermilk (or yoghurt)
300 grams blueberries

Method
Preheat oven to 180°C.

Add sugar to TMX bowl and grind speed 10 / 5 secs.

Add butter and mix speed 7 / 15 secs (I do this because I always use butter straight from the fridge and this softens it up a little).

Insert the butterfly and mix speed 4 / 2 mins.

Add the eggs and vanilla to the TMX and mix speed 4 / 10 secs.

Add the flour, baking powder, salt and buttermilk and mix until just combined speed 3 / 10 secs. Do not overmix.

Add the frozen blueberries and mix speed 3 / 10 secs. You want the blueberries to still be frozen otherwise they might get a little mushed!

Spoon into cake pan – this is a really thick creamy batter that you ave to spoon and spread, it does not pour.

Cook for 50 mins

As you can see I cooked mine in little squares as I had a new pan that I wanted to try out!

20120814-123850.jpg

Leave a Reply

