Apricot Crumble Bars

20120808-135352.jpg

I have just discovered all the cheap e-books on amazon that work on the Kindle App on my ipad. Yeah, I know, a little behind the times!

I purchased a great little ebook called the Good Neighbour Cookbook by Suzanne Schlosberg and Sara Quessenberry. They even have a website over here. The book is all about delicious things to cook for your neighbours, family or friends when they have a baby, are sick or various other occasions. So many of the recipes have caught my eye and I want to try them out in the thermomix and I’ve started today with their delicious Apricot Crumble Bars.

This can be made with any jam or preserve you have on hand – I have a lot because I am always making up jam with the excess fruit in my fruit and veg box – and luckily I had a nice jar of beautiful apricot jam just sitting there in the cupboard! I used walnuts rather than pecans because that is what I had in the pantry. Don’t you just love a recipe that can be adapted to whatever you have on hand?

And it tastes so good with an afternoon cup of tea!

So this is my thermomix adapted version of Sara and Suzanne’s delicious crumble bars.

Ingredients
225 grams plain flour
150 grams white sugar
Pinch of salt
225 grams cold unsalted butter
100 grams pecans/walnuts
80 grams rolled oats
3/4 cup apricot jam

Method
Line a 18 x 28cm pan and preheat oven to 180°C.

Add flour, sugar, salt and butter to the thermomix bowl and mix on speed 7 / 10 seconds.

Add the nuts and oats and knead / 15 secs until it is combined.

Put aside about 1/2 cup of the dough.

Press the remaining dough into your prepared pan. Spread the apricot jam over the dough in a thin, even layer leaving a 1/2cm border around the edges.

Crumble over the remaining dough.

Bake for 25-30 mins.

Allow to cool for at least 1 hour before slicing.

Now go and be a great neighbour and bake some of this slice today – and stay tuned for some more Good Neighbour conversions!

20120808-135459.jpg

Leave a Reply

